Visa To India

E-VISA: In an alphabetical order, here are the countries / territories whose nationals can opt for e-Visa.

India Visa

Alphabets - Countries

A Azerbaijan, Austria, Australia, Aruba, Armenia, Argentina, Antigua & Barbuda, Anguilla, Angola, Andorra, Albania
B Burundi, Bulgaria, Brunei, Brazil, Botswana, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bolivia, Belize, Belgium, Barbados, Bahamas
C Czech Republic, Cyprus, Cuba, Croatia, Cote d'lvoire, Costa Rica, Cook Islands, Comoros, Colombia, China- SAR Macau, , China- SAR Hong Kong, China, Chile, Cayman Island, Cape Verde, Canada, Cameron Union Republic, Cambodia
D Dominican Republic, Dominica, Djibouti, Denmark
E Estonia, Eritrea, El Salvador, Ecuador, East Timor
F France, Finland, Fiji
G Guyana, Guinea, Guatemala, Grenada, Greece, Ghana, Germany, Georgia, Gambia, Gabon
H Hungary, Honduras, Haiti
I Italy, Israel, Ireland, Indonesia, Iceland
J Jordan, Japan, Jamaica
K Kiribati, Kenya, Kazakhstan
L Luxembourg, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Liberia, Laos, Lesotho, Latvia
M Myanmar, Mozambique, Montserrat, Montenegro, Mongolia, Monaco, Moldova, Micronesia, Mexico, Mauritius, Marshall Islands, Malta, Mali, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi
N Norway, Niue Island, Niger Republic, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Nauru, Namibia, Netherlands
O Oman
P Portugal, Poland, Philippines, Peru, Paraguay, Papua New Guinea, Palau, Panama, Palestine
R Rwanda, Russia, Romania, Republic of Macedonia, Republic of Korea
S Switzerland, Sweden, Swaziland, Suriname, Sri Lanka, Spain, South Africa, Solomon Islands , Slovenia, Singapore, Sierra Leone, Seychelles, Serbia, Senegal, San Marino, Samoa, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, Saint Lucia
T Tuvalu, Taiwan, Turks & Caicos Island, Trinidad & Tobago, Tonga, Tanzania, Tajikistan, Thailand
U Uzbekistan, USA, Uruguay, UAE, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Uganda
V Vietnam, Venezuela, Vatican City-Holy See, Vanuatu
Z Zimbabwe, Zambia

Eligibility for e-Visa

Be it for a medical treatment that is of a small period or leisure purpose or for sightseeing or for meeting friends / relatives or for a business visit, an international traveler can avail an e-Visa to India.

Note that the passport of the traveler must be valid for 6 months, from the date when he is arriving in India. Make sure that there are at least 2 blank pages in the passport so that the Immigration Officer can put a stamp.

It is recommended to have enough money to spend here and must also possess a ticket for an onward journey or a return ticket for an international traveler while coming to India.

However, if the country of origin of the international traveler is Pakistan, then he will be required to apply for a normal Visa at the Indian Mission even though he has Pakistani Passport.

The facility of e-Visa is not offered to Laissez-passer travel document holders, and Official / Diplomatic Passport Holders.

Every individual must have a separate passport and e-Visa will not be given to an individual if he is validated on Parent's or Spouse's Passport. International travel document holders cannot apply for an e-Visa.

Instructions for e-Visa

E-Visa is divided into 3 sub categories; e-Tourist visa, e-Business Visa and e-Medical visa. To visit India, an international traveler can club these categories.

Minimum 4 days in advance of their date of arriving in India, with a window of 120 days, the permitted nationals must apply for an e-Visa online. For example, if a person is applying for an e-Visa on 1st November then his / her date of arrival should be 5th November to 2nd February.

Along with the application of e-Visa, recent photograph with white-color background is also required. It is necessary to have personal details such as name of the holder, date of birth, nationality, expiry date and other things on the photo page in the passport. Depending on the type of e-Visa, one more document is required. If the uploaded documents and the photographs are not clear, then the application can get rejected.

As the fee of e-Visa is territory / country specific, an extra of 2.5 percent for bank transaction charges will be levied on e-Visa fees. An applicant is required to pay this fee at least 4 days prior to his date of travelling or else the application is not going to be processed.

Please note that this fee is non-refundable as this fee is for the processing of the application form. It does not depend on Grant or Rejection of Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA).

It is mandatory for every applicant to carry a copy of ETA (Electronic Travel Authorization) at the time of travelling. Before starting your journey, make sure that the status of ETA is 'GRANTED'. Apart from this, you also need to provide biometric details at the immigration on arrival in India.

Remember that an e-Visa is valid for 60 days right from the date of your arrival in India. On both e-Tourist Visa and on e-Business Visa, double entry is allowed, while triple entry is allowed on e-Medical Visa.

24 designated airports namely, Varanasi, Lucknow, Trivandrum, Tiruchirapalli, Pune, Gaya, Nagpur, Mumbai, Coimbatore, Mangalore, Kolkata, Jaipur, Hyderabad, Guwahati, Goa, Delhi, Cochin, Chandigarh, Chennai, Ahmedabad Calicut, Bengaluru, Bagdogra and Amritsar allow entry to an e-Visa applicant. There also are 3 designated seaports for the same i.e. Mangalore, Cochin, and Goa. However, exit can be done from any of the authorized Immigration Check Posts (ICPs) in India.

An e-Visa can be applied maximum for 2 times between the months of January and December in a year. Please be aware that an e-Visa is non-convertible and non-extendable. An e-Visa is not valid if you wish to visit Cantonment areas of Restricted / Protected Areas. To visit these areas, you need to obtain special prior permission from the Civil Authority.

You must be very careful while paying the fees of the e-Visa because if your number of unsuccessful attempts for applying for an e-Visa goes up from three, then your application id will be blocked automatically. If unsuccessful attempts have been more than three, then the applicant needs to apply afresh. You need to fill the application form again so that a new application id is generated.

After submitting the application and paying the fees, you need to wait for four hours before applying again as due to network issues or technical reasons; it may take 4 hours for the updation of e-Visa fee payment status.

If the traveler is from any country affected with Yellow Fever or if he is coming from any country whose nationals need to carry Yellow Fever Vaccination Card before coming to India, they might be kept in isolation for 6 days on arriving in India.

E-Visa facility in India is now extended to 163 countries in the world. To get more details, please click on the following link:

Government of India – Evisa Link